Spray Painting Kitchen Chairs

When we first moved into our house, my Grandpa gave us a set of chairs and a table for our kitchen that he had laying around.

table

Pretty much your basic, farmhouse-ish style table and rickety old chairs. We lived with it for a while, and I decided it was time for a change. They were all different colors due to being painted so many times throughout the years (this set is olllllld) and I may or may not have spilled a whole cup of brown paint on one of them. oops.

So after perusing Pinterest, I wanted to paint them black. I like the farmhouse look, but just needed to make it more classy. Farmhouse chic… if that’s a thing.

I went to Lowe’s and picked up 1 can of paint, and 1 can of primer for each chair (5 total- We use one chair for the front porch so we kept that one white/rustic looking). I decided to prime them first because the white paint that was on them was glossy, and I wanted to be sure the new paint would stick.

photo 2I like Valspar brand, here’s the primer. I simply used Gloss Black for the paint color.

I took all the chairs outside and put them on old cardboard we had laying around. I lightly sanded anything that was chipping or painted, just to try and get as smooth a surface as possible.

photo 1Sanding… Notice the brown paint?? My bad. Also- Izzy photobomb.

Next, I painted each chair with primer. I found the easiest thing to do was tip the chair upside down, spray the bottom legs and spindles, and then flip it back upright to do the rest. It took a while to get in all the nooks and crannies, but it wasn’t so bad.

photo 3After primer… looking better already actually!!

It didn’t take that long to dry, so once I was done priming the chairs I went back to the first one to paint it. A few cramped fingers later…

photo 5

All the chairs were painted! It was such a HUGE difference not seeing all the splatter paint, chips and scuffs everywhere. After they were all painted, I just left them outside for a few hours to fully dry.

I ended up using a little less than 1 can of paint per chair. When I was all done, I had 1 can each of primer and paint that was unused, so I returned them.

With each can of paint only being around $5, this is an easy and inexpensive way to update the entire look of your dining set!

photoI kept the actual table white, but I did repaint it with some white paint real quick just to touch up the scuffs.

I love the way it completely changes the look of the room! It looks much more complete and totally worth the time and energy.

xoxo

Lauren : )

6 thoughts on “Spray Painting Kitchen Chairs

    • It’s held up well! I think priming it helped. The top part where the spindle is rubbed off smaller than the size of a pencil eraser but I touched it up quickly

Leave a Reply

