My Visit to the RMS Titanic Exhibit

Good morning and happy Monday everyone!

This post may be a little long, but I can’t contain my excitement.

titanic2

Ever since I was little, I have loved everything about the Titanic, even before the movie came out. I can’t remember just what sparked my interest in it, but if I were to guess I’m sure I was watching a documentary on it with my dad or something.

Anywho, ever since then I have loved it. I bought books about it, watched documentaries about it, and my dad and I actually built a model of it! (years and years ago).

When The traveling exhibit started last year, I knew I just had to go! Last year, 2012, was the 100th Anniversary of the ship’s sinking. It just so happened that one of the stops on the exhibit tour was to the Henry Ford, which is a museum in Dearborn MI. It’s literally a hop, skip and jump from my work and I would always see billboards and signs for it. Well we ended up procrastinating and not going to see it when it was there (boo) and I got super upset about it.

Not long after this horrible lack of judgement by both of us, I found out they would be coming toΒ  Grand Rapids! Let me tell you how excited I was when I found that out!! Let’s just say if you’ve seen me excited, then you know what I’m talking about. Needless to say, I’ve been bugging Matt to take me ever since, because I didn’t want to miss another opportunity when it was close!

So Matt had been telling me not to make plans April 7th, and I thought it either could have been to go see the Titanic, or to a Tiger’s game or something. Well we got in the car and that’s when he showed me the tickets!! YAY! So we made the 2 1/2 hour drive across the state to the Grand Rapids Public Museum. The ticket gave us access to the whole museum, so we walked around until it was our turn to go into the Titanic Exhibit. They had a ton of Michigan-esque information there, which made me love this state even more.

titanic1

This was a replica of the Titanic on the ocean floor as it sits today.

When we got in line, we each received boarding passes with a real passengers name on it. Not only did it have their name, but other facts about them such as age, where they were from, what room they stayed in, their class, and the reason they were traveling.

boardingpass

Here’s my boarding pass, you can call me Edwina : )

First when you walked through the exhibit, you got your picture taken in front of a green screen which simulated the Grand Staircase, and at the end of the tour you could buy the picture. We didn’t-Matt blinked… of course.

*They won’t let you take pictures in the actual exhibit, but to see similar items, check this website out. It’s the official RMS Titanic Exhibit website, and you can also see if there’s an exhibit coming to a place near you!*

Walking through the tour was actually really touching for me. Not only did it walk you through a timeline with facts to read, but they actually had artifacts that were brought up from the ship. Seeing the passengers personal possessions was incredible. The first item that really got to me was a rivet from the ship. It was eerie seeing something that failed on the ship and caused it to sink. There were postcards, notes, articles of clothing, and dishes as well. There was a piece of a bench in tact, but the most amazing item was a bottle of champagne, with champagne still in it. I don’t care who you are-that’s amazingly insane. To think these artifacts were on the ship, and survived the 2 1/2 mile trip to the ocean floor in tact is amazing to me. They also had setups of the rooms from 1st class and 3rd class, as well as a hallway that mimicked the 3rd class passages. They also had an iceberg you could touch to feel how cold it was. At the end of the tour, you had to see if you lived or not, and it turns out Matt and I both lived!

If anyone has the chance to go to this exhibit, you won’t be disappointed. I can’t even stress how amazing it was to see all of the items on display. It really makes me want to go to the Vegas permanent exhibition, which has even more items to see. There are also a few books and DVD’s that I’d like to get soon, just to learn more. The history of the Titanic never gets old to me, and I’m very glad that I had this opportunity to see the exhibit.

xoxo

Lauren : )

18 thoughts on “My Visit to the RMS Titanic Exhibit

  1. This sounds amazing. Ever since I was little I was really interested in the Titanic also. I really want to go to a museum about the Titanic but there isn’t one near Pennsylvania.

  2. You’re lucky. I’ve been to it twice and both times I have ended up dead at the end of the tour. Once, I was in 3rd class, and the other time I was the band leader.

  3. Normally, I adore the GRPM. I do not recommend for people to go right now, though. I was extremely disappointed for a couple of reasons after our family visit there last week Wednesday.

    My daughter has always been very interested in the Titanic and so have I. She knows far more than I do regarding the passengers and the history. When the Titanic exhibit was at the Henry Ford Museum last year my husband, my two sons still at home and I went to see it. It was wonderful. We were able to have two pictures taken, one on a recreated ship bow and the other on an actual recreation of the grand staircase. My daughter lives in Ohio and was unable to make it to Detroit with us. She visited this week and I brought her, my sons and a nephew to see this at GRPM.

    While we waited for our exhibit time, we passed the day throughout the rest of the museum, two areas were under construction and we could not tour them. All our prior visits to this museum were without my daughter so she missed out on a couple of areas that we had been talking about and she looked forward to seeing, especially the furniture section.

    Last, we entered the Titanic exhibit and were sent against a green screen. This was our “grand staircase” photo, as we later discovered; it was unlike the one we enjoyed at Henry Ford museum, which was an actual replication that we stood upon for our photo. There were also other replications of the ship that we enjoyed viewing along with many artifacts at Henry Ford that just were NOT included in the exhibit here at GRPM.

    While the prices were the same, the experience for both the Titanic exhibit and the GRPM were sorely lacking this week. I left Grand Rapids highly disappointed. I suggest to all that you wait to see this exhibit when it is in a large venue, and visit the GRPM when the renovations are complete.

    • I also heard that the Henry Ford had the staircase and bow to take a picture with, and when I walked in front of the green screen I was a little disappointed. It was totally my fault for not going to the Henry Ford to see it so that’s what I get for waiting I guess! I was just thankful to be able to see some artifacts, even if there were fewer than what is seen at other places.

  4. This exhibit was in Columbus a couple of years ago and I took the kids I was nannying for to see it! We all really enjoyed ourselves and I couldn’t believe how accurately it portrayed the film πŸ™‚ So fun!

  5. Wonderful! I remember seeing the exhibit a few years ago and leaving with a sense of astonishment. I felt as if I stepped in and out of the Edwardian era and the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean. To this day I still have my boarding pass displayed on a shelf in my bedroom. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

